Machinery directive 2006/42/EG

There are countless different machines and it is impossible to establish exactly what each specific machine must comply with, which is why the European Union has created global regulations for this: the Machinery Directive 2006/42/EG. 

The requirements in the directive are formulated as performance requirements. Harmonised standards have been drawn up for the application of these requirements.

It is important for designers, builders, users and operators of machinery to apply these standards in order to demonstrate conformity with the applicable requirements of the Machinery Directive.

Different types of Safety standards

The harmonised standards are divided into three different types: A standards, B standards and C standards.

A-standards are overarching standards and cover the basic safety requirements of the machine (EN ISO 12100).

B-standards are basic standards for the safety aspects or safety devices of a machine. A distinction is made between two different B standards:

  • B1 standards relate to the safety aspects
  • B2 standards relate to the safety devices

C-standards cover the safety of machinery for a particular type or group of machinery.

Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC standards

Important B-standards for the safety of machinery

These safety standards apply to the safety aspects and safety devices of a machine.

We are
here to help

Contact one of our technical specialists or sales engineers

Sales engineer Marco Heijkoop small

Marco Heijkoop

Sales Engineer

Sales engineer Rick de Jonge small

Rick de Jonge

Sales Engineer

Internal sales coördinator Michael Dissel small

Michael Dissel

Sales coördinator

Technical specialist Bob Wijnveldt small

Bob Wijnveldt

Technical Specialist


Santiago Hidalgo

Sales Engineer Germany

Rob Voordendag small

Rob Voordendag

Robert van de Ven small

Robert van de Ven

The Office

The Office


a meeting

For all your questions about our products and services, please fill in the form below (response within 1 working day).