Providing Safety
Laws and regulations

Machinery directive 2006/42/EG

There are countless different machines and it is impossible to establish exactly what each specific machine must comply with, which is why the European Union has created global regulations for this: the Machinery Directive 2006/42/EG.

The requirements in the directive are formulated as performance requirements. Harmonised standards have been drawn up for the application of these requirements.

It is important for designers, builders, users and operators of machinery to apply these standards in order to demonstrate conformity with the applicable requirements of the Machinery Directive.

Different types of Safety standards

The harmonised standards are divided into three different types: A standards, B standards and C standards.

A-standards are overarching standards and cover the basic safety requirements of the machine (EN ISO 12100).

B-standards are basic standards for the safety aspects or safety devices of a machine. A distinction is made between two different B standards:

B1-standards relate to the safety aspects

B2-standards relate to the safety devices

C-standards cover the safety of machinery for a particular type or group of machinery.

Important B-standards for the safety of machinery

These safety standards apply to the safety aspects and safety devices of a machine.

EN-ISO 13849-1:2015

Safety-related parts of control systems.

EN 62061:2021

Functional safety of electrical, electronic and programmable systems.

EN-ISO 13857:2019

Safety distances for hazardous areas.

EN-ISO 14119:2013

Interlocking devices associated with guards.

ATEX 114

Components in explosive atmospheres.

EN-ISO 14118:2018

Prevention of unexpected (re)start of machines.